James W. Vaupel Trailblazer Award

Trailblazer Award for Demographic Analysis. This Award honors outstanding achievements by an individual scholar in the development and application of the methods of demographic analysis, including mathematical and bio-demography.

The Award is dedicated to the path breaking contributions of James W. Vaupel (1945-2021) to research on mortality, lifespan and aging, as well as his advancement of bio demographic research. It also celebrates his role as founding father of lasting demographic institutions and organizations, and emphasizes his role as inspirational educator and mentor with an immense influence on the careers of many generations of demographers.

Nominations for this Award can be made until two months before the start of a European Population Conference. The current call for nominations closes 15 April 2024.

Rules of Play



Melinda Mills, Leverhulme Centre for Demographic Science (LCDS), University of Oxford, UK


Martin Kolk, Stockholm University, Sweden


Carlo Giovanni Camarda, Institut national d’études démographiques INED, France


Emilio Zagheni, University of Washington, USA


Annette Baudisch, Max Planck Institute for Demographic Research MPIDR, Germany